Brave Wooden World

10-11-2017 / 20-01-2018

"Brave Wooden World," a retrospective of Dmitry Tsykalov's work, opens on 10 November at Marina Gisich Gallery. The project is named after Aldous Huxley's 1932 novel, "Brave New World".
The artist was born in 1963 in Moscow and graduated from the Drawing department at the Moscow Polygraphic Institute. Tsykalov has been based in Paris since 1991. In the 80's, Tsykalov's first pieces with wood "drew the attention of a narrow circle of specialists in the Moscow underground. But even back then, a line seemed to be drawn between him and the capital's emerging art scene. At a time when Moscow romantic conceptualism has begun its triumphal march through exhibition halls of both the capital and Europe, ignoring traditional sculptural values, Tsykalov stubbornly labored over the quality and technical definition of his 'woodwork'. A saw and a hammer are as natural as a brush to his hands, and he wields them with the mastery of a virtuoso." (Bogdan Mamonov)
The Dmitry Tsykalov exhibition at the Marina Gisich Gallery starts with large wooden pieces from new series still in progress, "Skins" and "Maps". The objects are made out of military boxes that once stored weapons. "The boxes were collected from all over the world — Germany, France, England, Russia, America, China, etc. — and they are marked with calibers, TNT compounds, and the chemical composition of explosives in all these different alphabets. Dmitry Tsykalov 'carves up' the boxes and reassembles them to create impressive hunting trophies: bears, lions, panthers and tigers. At first glance, they seem to be a simple homage to Schwitters' sculptural collages, referencing his well-known mosaic repertoire of Dadaist Merzbau forms. However, it soon becomes obvious that their status as 'art' is just bait. The drawings on the skins are naturally a realistic tribute to the remains of real animals, but they also function as camouflage for the art object." (Jean-Yves Jouannais)
Like a counterpoint to a powerful preamble, the second part of the exhibition is almost intimate in its shape and content, modeled after a fashion boutique where you can find shirts, ties and underwear. Here, among other things, works from the "Lingerie" series will be displayed. "Underwear – lingerie – is an object to cover our Biblical nakedness, a metaphor for delicacy and tenderness, that turns into an instrument of torture, an object both sacred and damned. The project uses a marquetry inlay technique. The objects are cut from thin sheets of different wood veneers, torn, and then pieced together. Torn edges, cracks, and wood splinters are used for creating the objects. Subtle patterns are formed out of different stocks of wood veneer. Miniatures with erotic scenes from classical paintings, combined with torn edges and splinters, function as totems that should protect a person from chaos and at the same time pave the way for his destructive ecstasy," the artist explains.
The Dmitry Tsykalov retrospective exhibition at the Marina Gisich Gallery will show works that span the past 30 years. Although he has a rich biography of exhibits in France, Dmitry Tsykalov has been under-represented in Russia until now. "Brave Wooden World" is the artist's first personal exhibition in St. Petersburg.

О Дивный Деревянный Мир
Map_iii_2017_wooden_military_boxes_200x300x8_cm_for_web__2 Map_iii_2017_fragment_1_for_web Map_iii_2017_fragment_2_for__web

О Дивный Деревянный Мир

10-11-2017 / 20-01-2018

10 ноября в Marina Gisich Gallery откроется ретроспективная выставка Дмитрия Цыкалова «О дивный деревянный мир». Название проекта отсылает нас к роману-антиутопии Олдоса Хаксли «О дивный новый мир».
Дмитрий Цыкалов родился в 1963 году в Москве, окончил факультет графики Московского полиграфического института. С 1991 года он живет и работает в Париже. В 80-х первые работы Цыкалова из дерева «заставили заговорить о нем узкий круг специалистов московского андеграунда. Однако уже тогда, между ним и активно формирующейся столичной художественной сценой возникла полоса отчуждения. В то время, когда по столичным и европейским залам началось триумфальное шествие московского романтического концептуализма, игнорирующего пластические ценности, Цыкалов упорно работал над качеством и формальной отчетливостью своих «деревянных изделий». Пила и молоток в его руках столь же привычны, как кисть, и он виртуозно владеет ими» (Богдан Мамонов).
Выставку Дмитрия Цыкалова в Marina Gisich Gallery откроют крупноформатные деревянные объекты из новых, еще не завершенных серий «Шкуры» и «Карты». Материалом для них послужили военные ящики, в которых когда-то хранилось оружие. «На ящиках, собранных со всего мира — в Германии, Франции, Англии, России, Америке, Китае, etc. — на всех алфавитах обозначены калибры, тротиловые смеси, химический состав взрывчатки. Дмитрий Цыкалов «разделывает» эти ящики и собирает вновь, создавая впечатляющие охотничьи трофеи. Медведи, львы, пантеры и тигры… На первый взгляд, они кажутся простым оммажем скульптурным коллажам Швиттерса, ссылками на известный репертуар из мозаики дадаистских форм по типу Мерцбау. Но вскоре становится очевидно, что сам их статус «произведения искусства» является лишь приманкой. Рисунки на шкурах, конечно — реалистическая дань останкам настоящих животных, но вместе с тем и камуфляж художественного объекта» (Жан-Ив Жуанне).
Словно противовес мощному вступлению — вторая часть выставки, экспозиция которой, камерная по форме и почти интимная по содержанию, уподоблена пространству модного магазина, где можно найти рубашки, галстуки, нижнее белье. Здесь, кроме прочего, будут представлены работы из серии «Ланжери». По словам художника, «нижнее белье — ланжери, не мыслится, как предмет прикрывающий библейскую наготу, как метафора нежности и ласки, но превращается в инструмент пытки плоти, предмет одновременно сакральный и прОклятый. В проекте использована техника инкрустации маркетри. Объекты выкроены из тонких листов древесины разных пород, разорванных и затем собранных вместе. При создании объектов использованы рваные края разломов и древесные занозы. Тонкие орнаменты составлены из разных пород деревянного шпона. Миниатюры с эротическими сюжетами классической живописи, написанные маслом или темперой на загрунтованном дереве, в сочетании с рванными краями и занозами, обретают функцию тотемов, которые должны охранить человека от хаоса и одновременно открыть дорогу его разрушительному экстазу».
На ретроспективной выставке Дмитрия Цыкалова в Marina Gisich Gallery будут показаны работы, созданные художником за последние 30 лет. Имея серьезную выставочную биографию во Франции, Дмитрий Цыкалов до сих пор был мало представлен в России. «О дивный деревянный мир» — его первая персональная выставка в Петербурге.

О Дивный Деревянный Мир
Map_iii_2017_wooden_military_boxes_200x300x8_cm_for_web__2 Map_iii_2017_fragment_1_for_web Map_iii_2017_fragment_2_for__web